Bette Davis

Bette Davis: Early Life and Personal Life

Bette Davis was born in Lowell, Massachusetts, on April 5, 1908. Her real name was Ruth Elizabeth Davis, and she was the first child of Ruth Augusta Favor and Harlow Morrell Davis. She had a difficult relationship with her parents, especially her mother, who was cold and distant. As a child, she was interested in acting and attended Cushing Academy, a boarding school in Massachusetts.

In 1932, she married Harmon O. Nelson, a musician, but they divorced the following year. In 1939, she married Arthur Farnsworth, a businessman, but the marriage ended in divorce in 1940. She then married William Grant Sherry, a artist, in 1945, and they had a daughter, Barbara Davis Sherry, in 1947. The marriage was tumultuous, and they divorced in 1950. She also adopted two children, Margot Mosher and Michael Merrill, in the 1950s.

Bette Davis: Legendary Eyes and Career

Bette Davis

Bette Davis was known for her striking blue eyes, which were said to be her most distinctive feature. Her career began in the 1930s, where she starred in films such as “Of Human Bondage” and “Dangerous,” which won her an Academy Award for Best Actress. She continued to act in films throughout the 1940s and 1950s, starring in classics such as “All About Eve” and “Whatever Happened to Baby Jane?”. She was known for her strong personality and often clashed with directors and producers.

She was nominated for the Academy Award for Best Actress ten times and won twice, making her one of the greatest actresses in Hollywood history. She continued to act in films and television shows until her death in 1989. Her legacy lives on, and she is still considered an icon and inspiration to many actresses today.

Bette Davis: Movies in Order

Bette Davis appeared in over 100 films throughout her career. Here are some of her most famous movies in order:

1. The Petrified Forest (1936)

2. Of Human Bondage (1934)

3. Jezebel (1938)

4. Dark Victory (1939)

5. The Letter (1940)

6. The Little Foxes (1941)

7. Now, Voyager (1942)

8. All About Eve (1950)

9. Whatever Happened to Baby Jane? (1962)

10. The Whales of August (1987)

Bette Davis: Children and Death Photo

Bette Davis had three children: Barbara Davis Sherry, Margot Mosher, and Michael Merrill. She adopted Margot and Michael in the 1950s. Barbara was her only biological child, born to her second husband, William Grant Sherry.

Bette Davis passed away on October 6, 1989, at the age of 81. A controversial photo of her in her casket was published in the National Enquirer, causing outrage among her fans and family. The photo was taken by a former employee of the funeral home and sold to the tabloid without permission. The incident sparked a debate about the ethics of publishing such photos and led to changes in the law to protect the privacy of the deceased.

Scroll to Top